The Resource The Vatican princess, C.W. Gortner

The Vatican princess, C.W. Gortner

Label
The Vatican princess
Title
The Vatican princess
Statement of responsibility
C.W. Gortner
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C.W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world's most notorious families. Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias fascinated and terrorized fifteenth-century Renaissance Italy, and Lucrezia Borgia, beloved daughter of the pope, was at the center of the dynasty's ambitions. Slandered as a heartless seductress who lured men to their doom, was she in fact the villainess of legend, or was she trapped in a familial web, forced to choose between loyalty and survival? With the ascension of the Spaniard Rodrigo Borgia as Pope Alexander VI, a new era has dawned in Rome. Benefitting from their father's elevation are the new pope's illegitimate children--his rival sons, Cesare and Juan, and beautiful young daughter Lucrezia--each of whom assumes an exalted position in the papal court. Privileged and adored, Lucrezia yearns to escape her childhood and play a part in her family's fortunes. But Rome is seductive and dangerous: Alliances shift at a moment's notice as Italy's ruling dynasties strive to keep rivals at bay. As Lucrezia's father faces challenges from all sides, the threat of a French invasion forces him to marry her off to a powerful adversary. But when she discovers the brutal truth behind her alliance, Lucrezia is plunged into a perilous gambit that will require all her wits, cunning, and guile. Escaping her marriage offers the chance of happiness with a passionate prince of Naples, yet as scandalous accusations of murder and incest build against her, menacing those she loves, Lucrezia must risk everything to overcome the lethal fate imposed upon her by her Borgia blood. Beautifully wrought, rich with fascinating historical detail, The Vatican Princess is the first novel to describe Lucrezia's coming-of-age in her own voice. What results is a dramatic, vivid tale set in an era of savagery and unparalleled splendor, where enemies and allies can be one and the same, and where loyalty to family can ultimately be a curse. Advance praise for The Vatican Princess "Elegantly written and deeply researched, with a pacy style and a fine eye for contemporary detail. The world of Renaissance Italy is vividly brought to life--I'm captivated by this knowledgeable author's take on the controversial Borgias."--Alison Weir, New York Times bestselling author of Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen "A spiderweb of Renaissance intrigue with a cast of legendary characters, The Vatican Princess tells Lucrezia Borgia's story in her own words. Impressive research, a lush background, and deft characterization of these turbulent times make for a fascinating read."--Margaret George, New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth I "C. W. Gortner's The Vatican Princess is a tale of passion, political intrigue, and poisonous power. Assiduously researched and expertly crafted, this novel takes readers inside the treacherous world of the Borgias--one of history's most dysfunctional ruling families--and brings to life the sympathetic and freshly imagined character of their leading lady, Lucrezia. This unholy plunge into Rome's darkest dynasty is wholly engrossing."--Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author of Sisi"--
  • "Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias became Italy's most ruthless and powerful family, electrifying and terrorizing their 15th-century Renaissance world. To this day, Lucrezia Borgia is known as one of history's most notorious villainesses, accused of incest and luring men to doom with her arsenal of poison. International bestselling author C.W. Gortner's new novel delves beyond the myth to depict Lucrezia in her own voice, from her pampered childhood in the palaces of Rome to her ill-fated, scandalous arranged marriages and complex relationship with her adored father and her rival brothers--brutal Juan and enigmatic Cesare. This is the dramatic, untold story of a papal princess who came of age in an era of savage intrigue and unparalleled splendor, and whose courage led her to overcome the fate imposed on her by her Borgia blood"--
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
813/.6
Illustrations
maps
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3607.O78
LC item number
V38 2016
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
The Vatican princess, C.W. Gortner
Label
The Vatican princess, C.W. Gortner
Publication
Note
"A novel of Lucrezia Borgia"
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
ocn909925218
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
https://secure.syndetics.com/index.aspx?type=xw12&client=780-496-1833&isbn=9780345533975&upc=&oclc=%28OCoLC%29909925218/LC.JPG
Dimensions
25 cm.
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'ALL_BRANCHES': 'https://tccl.bibliocommons.com/item/show/3338455063'}
Edition
First edition.
Extent
382 pages
Isbn
9780345533975
Lccn
2015037198
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
n
Other physical details
map
System control number
(OCoLC)909925218

Library Locations

  • African-American Resource CenterBorrow it
    1520 North Hartford, Tulsa, OK, 74106, US
    36.177425 -95.984795
  • American Indian Resource CenterBorrow it
    2224 West 51st Street, Tulsa, OK, 74107, US
    36.089493 -96.017975
  • Bixby LibraryBorrow it
    20 East Breckenridge, Bixby, OK, 74008, US
    35.941196 -95.882858
  • Broken Arrow LibraryBorrow it
    300 West Broadway, Broken Arrow, OK, 74012, US
    36.052799 -95.793762
  • Brookside LibraryBorrow it
    1207 East 45th Place, Tulsa, OK, 74105, US
    36.098392 -95.976791
  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    400 Civic Center, Tulsa, OK, 74103, US
    36.150291 -95.994675
  • Charles Page LibraryBorrow it
    551 East 4th Street, Sand Springs, OK, 74063, US
    36.14093 -96.102013
  • Collinsville LibraryBorrow it
    1223 Main, Collinsville, OK, 74021, US
    36.364716 -95.839783
  • Community Outreach and Literacy ServicesBorrow it
    2901 South Harvard, Tulsa, OK, 74114, US
    36.126396 -95.850967
  • Genealogy CenterBorrow it
    8316 East 93rd Street, Tulsa, OK, 74133, US
    36.026527 -95.882851
  • Glenpool LibraryBorrow it
    730 East 141st Street, Glenpool, OK, 74033, US
    35.959007 -95.999352
  • Hardesty Regional LibraryBorrow it
    8316 East 93rd Street, Tulsa, OK, 74133, US
    36.026527 -95.882851
  • Herman and Kate Kaiser LibraryBorrow it
    5202 South Hudson Avenue, Suite B, Tulsa, OK, 74135, US
    36.087879 -95.913635
  • Hispanic Resource CenterBorrow it
    2601 South Garnett Road, Tulsa, OK, 74129, US
    36.126396 -95.850967
  • Jenks LibraryBorrow it
    523 West B Street, Jenks, OK, 74037, US
    36.024796 -95.975784
  • Judy Z. Kishner LibraryBorrow it
    10150 North Cincinnati Avenue E, Tulsa, OK, 74073, US
    36.307392 -95.991371
  • Kendall Whittier LibraryBorrow it
    21 S. Lewis, Tulsa, OK, 74104, US
    36.15889 -95.957886
  • LibrariumBorrow it
    1110 South Denver Ave., Tulsa, OK, 74119, US
    36.145419 -95.992799
  • Martin Regional LibraryBorrow it
    2601 South Garnett Road, Tulsa, OK, 74129, US
    36.126396 -95.850967
  • Maxwell Park LibraryBorrow it
    1313 North Canton, Tulsa, OK, 74115, US
    36.174 -95.918648
  • Nathan Hale LibraryBorrow it
    6038 East 23rd Street, Tulsa, OK, 74114, US
    36.129539 -95.905617
  • Owasso LibraryBorrow it
    103 W. Broadway, Owasso, OK, 74055, US
    36.266193 -95.855667
  • Peggy Helmerich LibraryBorrow it
    5131 East 91st Street, Tulsa, OK, 74137, US
    36.032127 -95.918701
  • Pratt LibraryBorrow it
    3219 South 113th W Avenue, Sand Springs, OK, 74063, US
    36.115589 -96.119003
  • Rudisill Regional LibraryBorrow it
    1520 North Hartford, Tulsa, OK, 74106, US
    36.177425 -95.984795
  • Schusterman-Benson LibraryBorrow it
    3333 East 32nd Place, Tulsa, OK, 74135, US
    36.116108 -95.938911
  • Skiatook LibraryBorrow it
    316 East Rogers, Skiatook, OK, 74070, US
    36.368568 -95.998375
  • South Broken Arrow LibraryBorrow it
    3600 South Chestnut, Broken Arrow, OK, 74011, US
    36.016449 -95.818459
  • Suburban Acres LibraryBorrow it
    4606 North Garrison, Tulsa, OK, 74126, US
    36.22065 -95.987175
  • Zarrow Regional LibraryBorrow it
    2224 West 51st Street, Tulsa, OK, 74107, US
    36.089493 -96.017975
Processing Feedback ...